comments 17

Embracing Winter with a Blazer

My life needs a navy blazer! | offsquare.wordpress.com

Blazers! I mean, who doesn’t love a perfectly tailored blazer, right?

I bought this pattern (McCall’s 4928) many years ago, captivated by the multiple front and back seams and the fact that it’s fully lined. Those kind of seams make for ideal tailoring, meaning you can cinch it in or let it out exactly where you need it.

The packaging though, arghh … It’s ugly. McCall’s, if you’re listening, your illustrations could do with looking more en-trend. Please, for the sake of our inspiration, could you help us out a little? I needed serious imagination with this.

McCalls 4928 | offsquare.wordpress.com

If you’re shopping for a pattern through those big pattern books you find at the fabric store, may I suggest using the line drawings as a guide more than the illustrations? Look at the seams, where they sit and how they might be altered, how different fabrics might look … it takes imagination, but don’t let the illustrations put you off from a potentially amazing pattern.

My life needs a navy blazer! | offsquare.wordpress.com

Back to the pattern. This is actually my second attempt. I used a polyester faille for my first and it was just too light to handle the seams. There were puckers on the back seams that I restitched about three times each and pressed to within an inch of its life, but they just wouldn’t budge. I couldn’t handle that and the whole thing got ditched.

My life needs a navy blazer! | offsquare.wordpress.comSo this version is made from a navy double knit ponte (pronounced pon-tee), in view C but with flap pockets. I made a sway back adjustment running through the centre back and side back seams and I reduced the sleeve head by about 2cm. One of my favourite features is those sleeve slits. I don’t know why, but they make me happy.

My life needs a navy blazer! | offsquare.wordpress.com

The body is lined with navy polyester lining fabric that I found at the op-shop for $1, but with a floral tencel fabric on the sleeves as a fun accent for when they are rolled up. It also ensures there is more of that fabric for other projects.

My life needs a navy blazer! | offsquare.wordpress.com

Being a double-knit, it’s snuggly warm and will serve me well this winter. I don’t intend to button it up and haven’t even bothered adding buttons/buttonholes yet! An open blazer just feels less formal (and I don’t trust my machine to do a perfect buttonhole first try without eating the fabric).

Wouldn’t this be fun in a bright, loud colour? I’m talking, neon loud with just a black t-shirt and jeans, maybe nude heels. Fun!

Filed under: Women

About the Author

Posted by

Freelance writer, sewing enthusiast, and coffee appreciator living in NZ

17 Comments

  1. There is a lot to be said for a nicely cut blazer; classy, classic, and fabulous! Especially after seeing that paired with good-fitting pants, a tank or tee, and a scarf, during my travels through Europe. A blazer is definitely one of my favourite pieces to wear, during the cooler months!

    • I can just imagine stilettoed women negotiating cobblestones in their perfectly tailored outfit. Maybe a polite dog in tow and the promise of a warm croissant. *sigh*

    • Oh Renee, you are truly gorgeous! Don’t be jealous and I’d totally make you a blazer if you found some fabric you love 😉 miss you guys and that handsome Beeto xoxo

  2. This is fabulous, so beautifully fitted and stylish. I’m like you, paying more attention to the line drawings than the stylised illustrations or even the “real person” modeled shots. Some are truly just wrong, wrong, wrong!

    • Absolutely! I think the ‘big four’ have some work to do there, yet I think it’s helped the Indie designers stand out more because their styling is just that much better. Either way, nothing beats a line drawing for getting a gauge about what you’re really getting and the potential it holds. P.S. I’m still thinking about your purse today and how amazing it looks. The laser cut scuba knit with leather? Perfect!

  3. Wow! I hear you on the ‘need some inspiration’. It looks great! I do like how many seams makes for a better fit. 🙂 I’m still waiting to buy a good sewing machine here in the US. I’ve got my eye on a Singer Heavy Duty 5532. What do you think? It should do the light stuff and the heavy stuff and keep on going, hopefully.

    • Hey Holly. I don’t know much about those machines but from a brief look online it seems a good investment. Metal body, automatic threader, 1-step button hole and some good stitch options … Looks good to me. I don’t know anything about the latest Singer offerings, but my old one is a dream to use. And patterns from the ‘big 4’ are uber cheap over there so that’ll be awesome!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Sew Love: 5 April | Life by Ky

  5. Pingback: Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic | Offsquare

Hello.

