comments 8

Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic

This is a versatile little number that I hope will become a wardrobe staple. It’s the ever popular Belcarra Blouse by Sewaholic Patterns.

Designed for woven fabrics, it features a raglan sleeve with turned up cuffs and relaxed fit with subtle shaping at the waist.

There are a lot of cute versions of the Belcarra on Pinterest. Lace sleeves, vibrant fabrics or a simple top featuring pleats on the sleeves. They also look as good with jeans as they do tucked into skirts.

Belcarra by Sewaholic Patterns | Offsquare.wordpress.com

The Belcarra is a reasonably quick make. It took just one rainy day complete with juggling kids on school holidays and all that entails, so I consider that pretty snappy. And do you recognise that sleeve fabric? I lined the sleeves of my blazer with it too. Matchy matchy!

The only alteration I made was to add 1cm to the top of the sleeves to narrow the neckline (via a tutorial on the Sewaholic site) because online reviews have suggested the neckline can be a bit wide and bra straps have a tendency to show. I’m pleased I did.

Belcarra by Sewaholic Patterns | Offsquare.wordpress.com

If you like sew-alongs, there is a Belcarra sew-along on the Sewaholic site that can walk you through each step of the way. Handy for tricky bits where you stare at the pattern blankly trying to work out what to do next. Not that there were any of those here, but I’ve had patterns previously with many such moments and sew-alongs are a perfect solution. Great for beginners too.

The Belcarra is a cute and easy to wear top and I think it’s a solid addition to the pattern stash. I’m all for getting some good basics in there and ones that will be used over and over again. The Belcarra fits that bill nicely.

Hooray!

Belcarra by Sewaholic Patterns | Offsquare.wordpress.com

Happy sewing everyone xoxo

Filed under: Women

About the Author

Posted by

Freelance writer, sewing enthusiast, and coffee appreciator living in NZ

8 Comments

  1. Ooh this is so lovely! I really like your fabric combination. I’m trying not to buy any new patterns but I really do fancy giving this a go.

    • I hear you on trying not to buy more. It all adds up! But word in the street is that Papercut Patterns are releasing a new range at the end of this month. I can see my pattern fast is not going to last long!

    • Ah yes, I have an ever growing sewing list too. I’d feel so lost though if I had nothing to make 🙂 I’ve seen a version with lace sleeves that looked gorgeous too. So many options with this pattern

  2. Hannah

    Hi
    Looks lovely. Do you think it would be possible to convert this to knit fabrics? I have some jersey I’d like to use up
    Ta

    • Hi Hannah. Maybe, depending on how stretchy it is. It’s quite a loose fitting raglan in the arms, so I’d consider sizing down if you were to try. Not sure that’s very helpful, but good luck!

Hello.

