comments 33

Refashion: Denim Jacket

I love the current look of denim paired with dresses. Cute!

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

What I don’t like is how boxy and shapeless denim jackets tend to be. Yawn. I actually feel a bit lost in them and they always seem so bulky and heavy.

Denim Jacket RefashionI started by chopping off some length, removing the band around the hem and taking off the sleeves

Denim Jacket RefashionI then tailored the side and back seams for a nicer fit. Then, after cutting the waistband in half, reattached that to the new hem.

I realised at this point that I should have left more snaps on the front placket because I wanted the option of doming it up just under the bust. Oops! It took an evening or two of hand stitching to reattach those again.

Denim Jacket Refashion

I shortened the sleeves and, to make a more structured looking shoulder, I opted for a few little pleats on the shoulder seam and a single pleat down on the hem.

Done! A cropped jacket to offset any summer dress. I love the tailored fit and feminine touch, while still being a little edgy.

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

This refashion is part of Refashion Runway hosted by The Renegade Seamstress. Make sure you pop over and check out the other entries and, while you’re there, don’t forget to vote for your fav!

offsquare.com | Refashion a shapeless denim jacket into a flattering crop jacket. Perfect with maxi dresses!

33 Comments

      • I think I’m the only contestant in mid-winter right now, but we’ve been super lucky with gorgeous weather anyway. Yay!

      • Oh that’s right! That’s nice about the weather though. We’ve been unseasonably cooler, compared to this time last year anyway.

  1. I think you did a great job with this, Katrina. The new cut is so much more flattering on you! I’m tempted to steal your idea, except I’m doubtful that the British weather would let me get more than one or two wears per year out of a cropped short sleeve jacket. Well done.

    • Thanks Sally! Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery 🙂 A long sleeve version would be cute too and I only thought afterwards how that would be more versatile.

  2. You have done an amazing job! It looks fantastic, you’ve inspired me to take a look at my denim jackets that I seldom wear now.

  3. it’s amazing! I often find them heavy and uncomfortable too – so this is fantastic! you are a fantastic restyler!

  4. zibergirl

    It’s so cute! Often all you need is just that amount of fashionable denim over a summer dress to really create a stylish look. I love what you did this week. Good luck in the contest.

  5. Great job! I wanted to find a jean jacket to makeover for this week too but ended up going with overalls. I am definitely impressed – might try to find a jacket to play around with this week!

    • Oh your overalls were an amazing find! I love the print down the front. The thing about refashioning is that it’s all down to what you can find on the day. It makes a good find that much more special though 🙂

  6. Nay

    Great idea! I’m going to Pin it and steal your idea for the Australian Summer!

    • Yay! I’ll look forward to seeing what you make. I didn’t know you were in Australia, that’s awesome! I’m in NZ so, like you, the jacket will have to wait a couple more months for another outing.

    • Thanks Miriam. I’m really enjoying structured sleeves at the moment. Funny the phases we go through 🙂

  7. I have a denim jacket that is too boxy etc and was going to send it to the op-shop. I might have a go at going a similar re-fashion now!

  8. Pingback: Home Sewn Style Bookazine | Offsquare

  9. OMG that’s genuis! Thanks! I love denim jeans but I gained weight and mine don’t fit anymore. I’m gonna have try this tomorrow. Thank you.

Hello.