comments 3

Vintage Style Bow Tie Blouse

Vintage blouse | offsquare.com

Second hand patterns are a cheap way to add to your sewing pattern arsenal. I’ll often dig through for a sleeve design that I like or a certain silhouette. I got lucky with this pattern though and loved the whole look!

Vintage blouse | offsquare.com

I made style #1 with short sleeves and just tied it loosely.

Vintage blouse | offsquare.com

As I’ve mentioned before, vintage sewing patterns often just come in one size, so don’t forget to check this before buying second hand patterns.

Also, I’ve been caught out once when I got home and discovered all the pattern pieces weren’t in the envelope. Try to open up the envelope in store and have a quick check to save any dramas later.

This blouse is made from a cotton/poplin and despite looking really pink here, it’s actually a vibrant coral. A gorgeous silk would be perfect for this style, so I’ll keep hunting for that.

It turns out vintage patterns often run a little tight in the arm scythe. Huh. Did people just have smaller underarms 20 years ago? Anyway, I trimmed the shape about 0.5 cm on the front curve and eased out some gathers on the sleeve to fit. No problem, but good to bear in mind.
Vintage blouse | offsquare.com

Although I was given an old overlocker to use recently, I can’t for the life of me get it stitching nicely (a friend recently had huge success with the machine, so it seems I’m just serger-challenged *sigh*).

Instead, all my seams were trimmed with pinking shears to avoid fraying and while it doesn’t look as fancy as serged edges or a tidy french seam, it’ll suffice. No-one else will see it (umm … that’s if I  hadn’t just posted it on the internet). Moving on.

If you don't have a serger, finish seams with pinking shears instead. It's much cheaper!

Vintage blouse | offsquare.com

I love the yokes and gathered sleeves on this top. The bright colour is also fun to wear and some days you just want that. Some colour and fun.

Filed under: Women

About the Author

Posted by

Freelance writer, sewing enthusiast, and coffee appreciator living in NZ

3 Comments

  1. I promise I won’t tell anyone about the seams…. 🙂 I am going to post about sewing Christmas Bunting next week. You will see my standard of sewing! You may well laugh 🙂 But I hope you like the bunting! Did Postie deliver your lip balm?

    • I look forward to seeing the bunting! Good on you! Thanks so much for the lip balm. So divine!! You’re so sweet. I’ll definitely have to start making my own now 🙂

Hello.

