comment 0

Book Rave: Home Sewn

Home Sewn

My lovely friend, Anna, recently lent me this stylish pattern book, Home Sewn by New Zealand Fashion Museum. It offers 10 patterns from leading New Zealand designers, including Papercut which I was really excited to see. Her skirt has to be my favourite pattern in the entire book.

Paper Cuts, Home Sewn Book

Home Sewn begins with a history lesson in NZ sewing and fashion, before launching into profiles and patterns from the contributing designers. Afterwards, it concludes beautifully with how-to tips like sewing a french seam or hand stitching a universal (blind) hem.

Home Sewn Book

While there are some items in there I don’t see myself ever wearing (I don’t care what you say. Harem or leisure pants will always be considered pooh pants in my mind) there are a few items here that are definitely worth having in my pattern arsenal. The t-shirt (above) looks like a versatile pattern for knit tops, along with a cute and simple summer dress and of course the Paper Cuts skirt.Home Sewn BookI really enjoyed reading a New Zealand sewing book for a change and it feels quite classy having such high calibre designers contributing.
Home Sewn Book

When it comes to inspiring patterns, I’m often let down by Simplicity, New Look etc. Do they just ignore current trends on purpose? How did they manage to create patterns and websites that drain creativity rather than inspire it? *sigh*

Home Sewn is a lovely option for something more sophisticated and fun with a designers edge.

In terms of patterns, as with any other pattern book, there are some in here that don’t resound with me at all, but then others that I love. Those patterns I love will get a lot of use and I think that’s where the value really is.

All up, it’s beautifully put together book. I love that high end, structured look with a hint of runway and there is plenty of that in these pages.

While most Amazon users will face paying a premium for this book ($84! Yikes. The book isn’t THAT amazing), Fishpond have it for a smidgen under NZ$40. Much more reasonable.

You can also find it on the Papercut Patterns website, which I highly recommend browsing anyway. All of her patterns (and the innovative packaging) are amazing! I’m loving her work.

Home Sewn by New Zealand Fashion Museum. This post is unsponsored and is purely my own opinions.

Filed under: Books

About the Author

Posted by

Freelance writer, sewing enthusiast, and coffee appreciator living in NZ

Hello.

