comments 7

Teepee for Kids

I think I’ve worked out why I love sewing so much.  It’s like you get a rush when you actually like the end result (which unfortunately doesn’t always happen) and the recipient loves it just as much, if not more.

When I first set up the Teepee in the garden for Little Man, I just couldn’t take my eyes off him!  It was so heart warming to see him in there with his little trucks and soft toys, lost in his own private world.  I couldn’t help but watch from the window, my heart soaring.  He actually likes it!  And I like it!  This was a rare moment where the world stopped and I heard a faint chorus of angels singing the perfect theme song for that very moment.  Okay, perhaps a slight exaggeration and totally cheesy, but you get the idea.

So, while we waited a week for the rain to pass so we could take photos outside, the Teepees had a good stint in our lounge.  They’ve been fantastic and pop away so easily.  Admittedly, they do tend to topple when indoors, but the bamboo stakes are so lightweight that there’s no damage done.

I couldn’t believe the response we got while taking photos at the beach either!  Gosh, I should do all my photo shoots there … my morale has been sufficiently boosted for another month.  We had people coming up and asking where we got them and even taking photos themselves.  Aw, I love Nelson.  Such lovely people!

Okay, so you want to make some yourselves?  I used a pattern found in Meg McElwee’s book “Growing Up Sew Liberated”, which is a great book to have when sewing for kids.  If buying a book isn’t an option, try this free tutorial at Craftgossip.

Maybe sewing isn’t your thing?  You can buy kids teepees at these gorgeous NZ websites “Charlotte and Austen” and “Kiwi Living”.

Filed under: Books, children

About the Author

Posted by

Freelance writer, sewing enthusiast, and coffee appreciator living in NZ

7 Comments

  1. Wow. Just stumbled on your blog on wordpress & can’t stop staring at your Teepees! (Why does that word always make me want to check dictionary.com?) Especially the red one. The absolute perfect fabric for it!

    Thanks for the inspiration, I’m enjoying your blog. 🙂

    • Thanks so much Suzanne! I think the red has to be my fav too. Oh and you’re right about the word … it never seems to look right 🙂 Just had a quick look at your blog too … I must admit that lady skipping rope on the high rise had me holding my breath! Eek

  2. oh wow – I love your red teepee – maybe I should get my a into g and sew one up for Xmas (for the child of course wink wink I think it’d be a great place to hide from him though) Just found your blog on KMB 🙂

    • Thanks Kelly. Oh it would make a fantastic Christmas pressie! And if you do ever find a place to hide from kids, let me know. So far it seems nowhere is safe. They always seem to find me and scream “Mum, poos!” when I’m trying to find somewhere quiet 🙂

  3. Pingback: L.J. & Pat; “He” and “She”; “They” | Inspired Vision

Hello.

